Wedding or Elope? A Ceremony for the Two of Us

What greater thing is there for two human souls than to feel that they are joined together to strengthen each other in all labor, to minister to each other in all sorrow, to share with each other in all gladness, to be one with each other in the silent unspoken memories?

- George Eliot

My husband and I did not get married in the “traditional” way. We planned and budgeted until the stress bogged us down to the point of  exhaustion. Neither of us wanted the big fuss of a big wedding or a large crowd. What we discussed in depth was the importance of what the day would mean to us and, ultimately, it was knowing that we would share the moment together as we would the rest of our lives that led us to our decision.

I know that our families missed out on sharing such a special moment with us but we have no regrets. I have no regrets. On the most important day of my adult life thus far, I was able to look into the eyes of this wonderful man and promise him my love and loyalty without my mind wandering in a million directions.

Weddings are wonderful occasions and I am in awe of the women who are able to plan these events of grandeur. I admit that I failed at planning but I am perfectly fine with that. I know that the ceremony, for me, would have taken its toll as I would worry about the small things falling into place perfectly – Did I look ok walking down the aisle or did I walk like a drunk duck in a nightgown? Did I walk too fast? Are our parents alright? What if I trip on my dress when we leave? What if…Did I…Are they…?

I can’t explain the feeling, the magnitude of the moment, that landed on my heart when I held his hands and looked into his eyes in a dream-like trance without distraction. It was simply the two of us bound by wonderful forces of love, loyalty, honor, and respect.  To share that moment solely with him and to know that it will always remain a private affair is indescribable and unbelievable. It is a gift.

One thought on “Wedding or Elope? A Ceremony for the Two of Us

Leave a Reply

